2014 – A List of Things I Can’t Wait to Enjoy

With all due respect to 2013, I think it may be all but a memory when 2014 is said and done. That isn’t to say that the past year was without it’s gems, far from it. 2013 brought us the return of Anchorman, the best Arctic Monkeys album yet, an instant classic horror remake (Maniac), my engagement, a second Deltron 3030 album, an overindulgent Arcade Fire (and Eminem, and Kanye) record, and many many other occurrences.

Still, I had a hard time feeling great about 2013 while compiling this list of upcoming gems. The more I added to it, the more excited I became. And that was BEFORE 60’s Batman was announced for a DVD/Blu-Ray release ! Hell, that could be it’s own blog entry right there ! It’s not though. Anyway, I’ve separated the gems into 4 columns. TV, Music, Film & Home Video. And yes, I’m still calling it “Home Video”, I fear change !

TV

1) The Return of 24 [season 9] (May 5th)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ir9t53Dh08Q

24_Live_Another_DayI know this won’t mean much to non-diehards of the show, and even those of us who trudged through the last 3 seasons probably aren’t expecting much at this point. That said, 24 was a thrilling show that I looked forward to seeing week after week. Season 5 was the clear standout (best characters, story & villains, least junk), but I’m hoping that a change in format (from 24 episodes to 12) and location (London instead of the US) may be just what the series needs to ratchet up the tension experienced in the first 5 seasons of this groundbreaking show.

2) Better Call Saul (November)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBNs9rk0FGo

Better-Call-SaulClearly that isn’t the real intro, but I’m sure we’d all still watch it if it was. I actually didn’t catch up with Breaking Bad until this year, mainly because I’d watched the first season (& a few episodes of season 2) with my (now) ex, so it was a bit tainted for awhile. I knew I’d love it (and I did), and now that I’m caught up, I can’t wait to watch this prequel series, starring Bob Odenkirk’s popular Saul Goodman character. Clearly it won’t live up to everyone’s hype, but it’s the closest we’ll get to new episodes of BB, so bring it on !

3) The Return of Trailer Park Boys [Season 8] (TBA)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m97HE5U91VM

tpbSpeaking of shows that were once great, then got less great (but still enjoyable), TPB is coming back for an 8th (and 9th, at least) season ! There’s also a third film being released in April (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwJIDrOEPts), though I’m a bit more excited to have a regular series returning. As it turns out, the main cast members themselves have acquired the rights to the series, so I suppose we can look forward to them milking the characters to death for years to come. That said, it’s nice to see them back in TV show form, even if it ends up being online only.

4) American Horror Story [season 4] (October)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Khbhv33ab0

o-AMERICAN-HORROR-STORY-570Sadly, neither of those are real. Well, “official” that is. All we know about the upcoming season of AHS is that it will be a period piece set in 1950, and most of the cast will return (including the always excellent Jessica Lange). It may seem pretty far away (seeing as season 3 doesn’t end until tomorrow), but AHS has been a consistently fun watch over it’s 3 season run. It makes me look forward to every October even more than usual.

Home Video

1) BATMAN (TBA)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AlusgU-MUZ4

d083576dc96bccb3a19606f4fbc2ddd61e48b12I can’t even begin to tell you how outrageously excited I am for this release. This has been at the top of my list since I was a child collecting VHS and watching Batman re-runs after school. I can safely say that this is one of my favourite TV shows of all time, despite how ludicrous it became. One need only look at the blu ray transfer (and special features) given to the one-off 60’s Batman film to fathom just how good those colours can look in HD. This show was so tangled up in rights issues, I’d assumed that my black market DVD’s of studio master VHS rips was the best I’d ever get. The fact that I’ll have a blu ray copy of all 120 episodes in my hands by the end of the year is almost too much to comprehend. SO STOKED !! (P.S – that’s not official cover art, but it’s pretty sweet regardless).

2) Nightbreed – The Cabal Cut (TBA)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CX0-AlytIXY

nightbreedcabalNothing bothers me more than censorship or studio fuckery. Many films have been irrevocably ruined by studio meddlers who thought their vision trumped the filmmakers’. It’s rare that the artists get another shot to fix the mistakes of the past, but Clive Barker has been given just that. Not only will we get to see (more or less) his original vision of Nightbreed, but we’ll get it from the brilliant minds of Scream Factory, arguably the best studio for genre video releases. It’s been an ongoing struggle to wrestle the footage/rights from the studio, but this Fall it will all have been worth it (assuming the extended cut is actually good).

3) Anchorman 2 – Recut (April)

http://et.tv/1cE2B5T

anchorman-2-whysoblu-2As much as I enjoyed Anchorman 2, I couldn’t wait to see the long discussed recut version of the film. So much footage was shot for the original Anchorman that an entirely new movie was made with the leftover footage (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XNWTvzLrWFA). A similar thing happened with the second film, but with a bit of a twist. Although the “recut” version will include 15-20 minutes of entirely new footage, ALL of the jokes from Anchorman 2 have been replaced with alternate jokes, 250 new jokes in total. An ambitious undertaking to be sure, but one I can’t wait to sink my teeth into.

Music

1) Johnny Cash – Out Among the Stars (March 25)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hiUaWE_Vftg

Johnny_Cash_-_Out_Among_the_Starshttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WBlRx7DlL_E

It’s not often that we’re treated to a “lost” album by a certified legend. Recorded in the early 80’s, this album has never seen the light of day. We’ve become conditioned to lower our expectations when it comes to an artist of this caliber, especially for material that’s been buried for 30 years. That said, I’m excited to hear what’s been tucked away for so long.

2) Broken Bells – After the Disco (February 4th)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uhBewKu80Mg

After_The_Disco_CoverDespite the pedigree of the duo involved (The Shins, Gnarls Barkley, Gorillaz, The Black Keys, Beck), I think the first Broken Bells album flew under the radar for most people. It was a lovely blend of both artists, an album that rewarded multiple spins and became all the richer for it. I’ve been fiending for a follow up record (though their Meyrin Fields EP was an enjoyable stopgap). Word is that this record is even better than the first. Can’t wait to give it a spin.

3) Kasabian – TBD (TBA)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X3x_ayUaoSk

3004Not much is known about Kasabian’s upcoming fifth album, but they’ve become one of the most consistent and enjoyable UK bands in years. Only Arctic Monkeys can boast a better track record, and their recently released fifth album was their best effort yet. Can Kasabian continue that trend ? Let’s hope.

4) Ratatat – LP5 (TBA)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X827AZ_ajAs

f3158fdc5db111e3be8c12db5299872b_6Speaking of consistent bands dropping their fifth records, it seems like ages since we’ve had any new Ratatat music to enjoy. Their delicious blend of “Daft Punk meets Legend of Zelda” has served them well over the years, even leading to a production job for Kid Cudi (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oXaqfllUz3k). Though LP5 hasn’t been OFFICALLY announced for 2014, I’d be shocked if we don’t have it in our hands by the end of the year.

5) Wu-Tang Clan – A Better Tomorrow (TBA)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QdvsUdOssiw

Wu-Tang ClanOh, the ups and downs of being a Wu fan. I actually really enjoyed (most of) their last record “8 Diagrams”, but fans have a valid reason for being concerned with the quality of this, their (likely) last record. For years we’ve seen in-fighting, bickering, subpar solo releases and little reason to hope for the best. The latest cause for concern is Raekwon’s reluctance to add verses to the album unless he is paid upfront. Supposedly the album is finished, apart from Rae’s contribution. Truly a sad state of affairs, but either way, we’ll be getting the album soon enough.

6) DoomStarks – Swift & Changeable (TBA)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s9_HY6uZwVc

Doom+Starks+doomstarks

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H1-Mv2pzhh8

I’m starting to think we may never actually get this record. Supposedly they’ve been working on it for the past 7-8 years, but so far only 2 tracks have been released. On the plus side, one of those was released last year, leading me to believe that we’re closer than ever to hearing this (hopeful) gem of a record. Of course, both artists tend to spread themselves pretty thin, so who knows when we’ll actually get to hear it.

7) Nas – TBD (TBA)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EJ2E-hRDfiY

NasNot much is known about the upcoming 12th Nas album, apart from the fact that it will drop in 2014 and be his last release under Def Jam. It was also recently confirmed that it will contain a track called “Sinatra in the Sands” featuring Jay-Z and Justin Timberlake. It’s also a safe bet that Kendrick Lamar will make an appearance. Can’t wait.

8) Jack White – TBD (TBA)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tpK0CTEZGe8

2010jackwhitejm080112gallery0Much as it pains me to admit, I was pretty letdown by Jack White’s first solo record, “Blunderbuss”. It wasn’t a “bad” album, it just didn’t quite live up to what came before it. That said, I’m a HUGE Jack White fan. I think he’s one of the last real rock stars, and I’ll always check out anything he lends his talents to. Fingers crossed that his second record knocks it out of the park.

9) The Slew – TBD (TBA)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5kVrbs2B6XA

TheSlew_Band_2_16x9_620x350Speaking of albums that flew under the radar, hardly anybody seemed to notice when Kid Koala (Deltron 3030, Bullfrog) teamed up with the 2 former members of Wolfmother (when they were good) to create The Slew. It was an incredible show and album, featuring 2 DJ’s and a live rhythm section. 2014 will bring us the next chapter in their sound, but I urge you to check out 100%, great record.

Film

1) Dumb and Dumber To (November 14th)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wMXwrJV3W98

dumb-and-dumber-to-set-09242013-102002I wish I had a trailer for you, but that TV spot was pretty great for 2 reasons. First, she said ‘we’ve all been waiting 20 years for this”, but appears to be about 23-25, so there’s that. Second, she pronounced the name Harry “Doon” instead of “Done”. Bit awkward for someone who’s been waiting for a movie since she was a toddler ! ANYway, Dumb & Dumber was an instant classic, much like Anchorman. I never thought we’d get a sequel to either, but to get BOTH seems to make this the best year ever !

2) Sin City 2 – A Dame to Kill For (August 22nd)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SDYsUl5-9Gk

Sin-City-A-Dame-to-Kill-For-teaser-posterSpeaking of sequels I never thought we’d see, this year we’re being blessed with a follow up to the visually astounding Sin City. I couldn’t believe how awesome the trailer looked when the first movie arrived, and the film itself did not disappoint. I can’t help but think this will be a highlight of the summer.

3) X-Men – Days of Future Past (May 23rd)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pK2zYHWDZKo

X-Men_Days_of_Future_Past_posterI have to admit, I’m more excited about this film due to “X-Men First Class” rather than the first 3 X-Men films. Not that they were bad (maybe the third one), but First Class was the only one of the four that really blew me away. Excellent acting, cool storyline, good casting, etc. I’m hoping that Bryan Singer (director of the first two) is able to bridge the universes properly, but I’m certainly a bit cautious about this one.

4) Dawn of the Planet of the Apes (July 11th)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v0wP5ZkaUGg

Dawn_of_the_Planet_of_the_ApesI’m actually a pretty big fan of the Planet of the Apes series, but even I was taken aback by how good the prequel/reboot was. It was arguably the best film of the entire series, and I’m still kicking myself for not catching it in theaters. I won’t make the same mistake twice, I just hope my diligence pays off.

5) REC 4 (October 18th)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ApWyHgYZFqQ

REC_4_PosterThe original REC was one of the greatest “found footage” horror films ever made. Unfortunately it spawned a horrible remake (Quarantine), which itself had an unrelated, direct to video sequel that nobody cared about. REC 4 will be a sequel to the well received REC 2, picking up immediately after it ended. I still haven’t watched REC 3, but it’s set at a wedding, so it should coincide nicely with my own impending nuptials.

6) Interstellar (November 7th)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3WzHXI5HizQ

interstellar-christopher-nolan-posterI don’t know too much about this one, but all that really matters is the director (Christopher Nolan) and the cast (Matthew McConaughey, Ellen Burstyn, Matt Damon, Michael Caine, Anne Hathaway, John Lithgow). After The Dark Knight, Memento, The Prestige and Inception, it’s hard to think Nolan will drop the ball on this one. Sign me up !

7) The Grand Budapest Hotel (March 7th)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Fg5iWmQjwk

The_Grand_Budapest_Hotel_PosterSpeaking of reliable directors, you either dig Wes Anderson or you don’t. I’m not a fanatical Anderson Defender, but I’ve loved most of his output, including his most recent offering, Moonrise Kingdom (which ranked among his best). As usual, the cast is great, the tone is quirky and the seats will be filled.

8) Grand Piano (January 30th)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nEoM7bM7KVw

Grand_Piano_Official_PosterIt’s hard to believe how far Elijah Wood has come. From “The Good Son” to Middle Earth to Sin City to Maniac, the boy can act ! The premise of this one sounds a bit like Phone Booth meets Amadeus (alright, it’s the first movie I thought of involving a piano), and it’s been garnering rave reviews on the festival circuit. Catch it On Demand in January or in theaters this March.

9) The Town that Dreaded Sundown (TBA)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=njIN4eHJKWM

The-Town-That-Dreaded-SundownSpeaking of Elijah Wood, his turn in last years “Maniac” remake further solidified his acting chops. Will “The Town that Dreaded Sundown” be this years semi-obscure indie horror remake that improves on the original ? In the hands of American Horror Story’s Ryan Murphy, I’ve got pretty high hopes for it.

In Closing

There are certainly many other projects that I’m excited about this year, as well as many I’m sure I don’t even know about yet ! There’s been a strong rumour that The Kinks may re-form this year (for the first time since the mid-90’s). I’ve heard those rumours before, so I tend not to get too excited. That said, if it doesn’t happen this year (the 50th Anniversary of their first album) it’ll never happen. Fingers crossed they can overcome their differences and head out, one last time.

Apart from all that, I’ve got my aforementioned wedding to look forward to in 5 months. For that reason alone it’ll be hard to top 2014 as one of the highlights of my life. But then I found out Batman was coming out too. How lucky can one guy be ?!

Till’ Next,

– e

Leave a Reply

